Another week.  Another lockdown. More challenges. More frustrations. 
 
Our appetite for wearing masks in meetings and sitting a prescribed number of metres apart is waning.   Zoom was fun, well, sort of, a year ago, but now many of us are over it and hanker for the real thing. Dates are changed and we find we may not be able to accommodate the new ones.  All in all, a mess.  We lost last Friday’s lunch meeting and have postponed our Board meeting until Monday 12 July.  Sitting around the board room table sporting our masks was not an inspiring prospect.  Still, we stay strong and persevere.  The big news of the week is .........
........that our Past President Jill was made Rotarian of the Year.  This is just so, so deserved. The award should have been Rotarian of the Century.  If there were a Rotary entry for the Olympics she would have won gold, silver and bronze all rolled into one.  Well done, Jill.  And well done Darren for being awarded a PHF.  Thoroughly deserved.  Congratulations to both from us all.
 
Also hitting the spotlight during the week were Jeff Leach and David Reed for their immaculate support of the homeless. We welcome back the Kimberley Dental Team (KDT) from their trip up north to the remote Aboriginal Communities.  Please see below for a fuller description of their activities.
 
 
This Friday the good ship Rotary sets sail once again at the Parmelia for our regular lunch meeting 12.30 for 12.45.  Our guest speaker is Colleen Hayward.  Scroll down for details.
 
 
 
Our speaker for the following Friday 16 July is Richard Offen, well-known writer and broadcaster, who has a deep knowledge of Perth’s heritage buildings.  He laments the destruction of many of Perth’s iconic and beautiful buildings and has gathered ‘before’ photographs of these lost treasures and placed them side by side with ‘after’ photographs of their controversial replacements in a book entitled Lost Perth.
 
Don’t forget to sign on for these dates. Not only do you get to enjoy the speakers, you get to wonder in awe at Larry.  Who will he fine next?  And why?  Will he fine himself?  All these questions and more will be answered to your complete and utter satisfaction.  But you have to be there!
 
And speaking of being there, please don’t forget to bring your membership up to date.  This means getting out your credit card and transferring funds (the right amount) to the Treasurer.  He is eagerly awaiting your communication.  In fact, he has not slept well for the last month worrying about you.  Please put him out of his misery.
 
John.
 
 
PERTH ROTARY 2021/22 BOARD EMAIL - Our Next Board Meeting – Monday 12 July 2021
 
President:   Rev Dr John Shepherd AM    president@rotaryperth.org.au ;  john.h.shepherd@bigpond.com
Past President:         Jill Dawson              pastpresident@rotaryperth.org.au 
President Elect:        Maree Gooch           maree@valuecreators.com.au 
Treasurer:                  Joseph Wambua      treasurer@rotaryperth.org.au
Secretary:                  Jacques Phillips      secretary@rotaryperth.org.au
Rotary Foundation   Emma Cork              ecork@hphsolutions.com.au
Club Service:           Darren Perera           clubservice@rotaryperth.org.au
Fellowship Chair:    Jo Morris                  fellowship@rotaryperth.org.au     
Media Chair              Barry Thornton       barrythornton@hotmail.com
Speaker Program     Nicola Johnston       programmechair@rotaryperth.org.au
Membership             Jill Dawson              membership@rotaryperth.org.au
Vocational                 Jonas Edner             vocational@rotaryperth.org.au
Community               David Wee                community@rotaryperth.org.au
International             Wesley Sim               international@rotaryperth.org.au
Youth                        Manu Gupta              youth@rotaryperth.org.au
Sponsors