The Sir Wallace Kyle Oration was initiated in 1980 by the University of Western Australia in partnership with the Rotary Club of Perth, in honour of Sir Wallace Kyle’s life and leadership.

The late Air Chief Marshall, Sir Wallace Kyle, was an Honorary Doctor of Laws at the University of Western Australia, Governor of Western Australia from 1975 – 1980 and an honorary member of the Rotary Club of Perth. Sir Wallace Kyle was a classic example of what Australians love to see: someone from the humblest beginnings rising to Head of State  in his home state.

The Sir Wallace Kyle Oration is given by distinguished speakers of international standing and outstanding leadership.  The Oration may be given in any area of learning on the theme of “Service Above Self”, the motto of Rotary.

The Oration last held in 2007, is not an annual event, but coincides with important  commemorations and with the presence of notable people visiting WA. The Oration is held in association with the new McCusker Centre for Citizenship, which has been established to significantly advance opportunities for UWA students to contribute through service learning.


Previous Sir Wallace Kyle Orators


  • His Excellency the Rt Hon Sir Zelman Cowan AK, G CMG, GCVO, Governor General of Australia
  • The Hon Sir Charles Court AK, KCMG, OBE
  • Sir Eric McClintock, prominent businessman
  • Sir Edmund Hillary, KBE
  • Rabbi Dr Shalom Coleman, CBE AM
  • His Excellency Professor Gordon Reid, AC, Governor of WA
  • His Royal Highness, Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh
  • Sir Edward (Weary) Dunlop, AC,GMG, OBE
  • Dame Leonie Kramer, DBE AC
  • Sir Arvi Parbo, AC
  • The Hon Sir Ronald Wilson AC,KBE, CMG,QC
  • His Excellency Major General P.M. Jeffrey, AC, MC Governor of WA
  • The Hon Mr Justice David Malcolm, AC, CitWA, Chief Justice of Western Australia
  • Emeritus Professor Sir Gustaf Nossal, AC, CBE, Pres AA, FRSCS
  • Dr William Jonas, AM, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice Commissioner
  • His Excellency the Right Reverend Dr Peter Hollingworth, AC, OBE, Governor General of Australia
  • Mr Graeme Samuel AO LLM, Chairman Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
  • Prof Ian Frazer, Director Diamantina Institute of Cancer, 2006 Australian of the Year
  • Lieutenant-General David Morrison AO, Australian of the Year 2016